26 thoughts on “Midwinter

    • Good idea. I usually plan them the day I go to the greenhouse. Maybe I should plan ahead this year. :)
      You know what sounds good today, Robin? Birds and Blooms Magazine. Time to browse that magazine for a little February pick-me-up.

  1. Such a well-crafted piece–it makes me realize my own dance of waiting and anticipation at this time of year. I love the rhythm and the sounds of Midwinter.

    • Dead-looking snow. Yep, that’s what I see when I look out today, too…but then I remember you signed the contract for The Newspaper Code this month, and I realize that all the dead snow has worked it’s magic for you. Congratulations, Lisa! Thanks for stopping over.

  2. Beautiful. Whenever I see the word ‘midwinter’ I start humming the old song ‘In the Bleak Midwinter':
    In the bleak midwinter, frosty wind made moan,
    earth stood hard as iron, water like a stone;
    snow had fallen, snow on snow, snow on snow,
    in the bleak midwinter, long ago.
    And then the next verse, like your poem, brings the joy of hope. Just what I needed this
    bleak midwinter day, Lori. Thank you!

    • Now I’m going to be singing this all day. I had already hummed it before I saw your comment, but seeing the words in print is something else.
      Snow on snow, snow on snow…the repetition seemed a bit lazy before. Now, after all this snow, I see it is writing brilliance. Thanks, Anita.

    • The wisest will be content with what is right now. I’m glad you are enjoying it. It’s encouraging to hear those words. Thanks for the February cheer, ladyfi.

  3. Oh, Lori – look at all those sweet comments. Yeah! I loved your poem. I love all your poems. They are so sweet and ring true. You really have a gift for words.
    Keep them coming (please)!
    Sue

Comments are closed.