Wide Roots

Wide Roots by Lori Lipsky

Beneath sloped

tree-covered lawns

live roots

inscrutable

reaching out

stretching wide

to absorb

to nourish

to anchor

to provide each tree strength

in its stand against time

*******

When our girls were younger, our family spent countless weekend afternoons hiking the trails of the Arboretum in Madison, Wisconsin.

My favorite part of the Arboretum is Longenecker Gardens, with its grassy tree-covered hill (the large area to the left of the building in the photo below).

The Arboretum possesses Wisconsin’s premier assortment of trees and shrubs, with over 2500 types.The lilacs, magnolias, crabapples and maples are magnificent.

 

Do you ever think about the roots below the surface?

Thanks for checking out my new website and Poetry Patio blog.   I’d appreciate hearing from you in the comments. Sign up for the email option by clicking on the follow button at the top of the right column.

*****

*photo credit: Top photo by Dori (PD). Second photo by Jeff Miller, UW-Madison photo library.

8 thoughts on “Wide Roots

  1. Thanks for sharing, I need to go for a walk in the Arboretum.Love your yellow chairs picture so happy looking.

  2. Great thoughts and photos, Lori! Most of my thoughts about roots prior to your poem stemmed either from tripping over them or hitting them with the mower. Thanks for a fresh perspective!

  3. I will be thinking more about roots now! Especially their inscrutability. My dad was a tree lover and therefore a tree root lover, and anything that reminds me of him makes a great poem even greater!

  4. Great to see your site up and running. As always your poetry reminds me of the things so often taken for granted that impact so much. Thanks for sharing your gift on cyberspace.:)

Comments are closed.