The Widow

The Widow by Lori Lipsky 

The two hold hands 
Each evening 
As they stroll 
By her home 

From her kitchen window 
She sees them pass 
And remembers
A better time 

******* 
~published by Sparkbright Magazine,issue 7, December, 2011



photo credit: iStockphoto, Don Bayley

Someone asked me how to leave a comment here on WordPress... 
Just click on the title of the post, then scroll down to see the 
comment option. 

Sign up to follow by email and you won't miss a post.

Do you have a widow in your life?  

 

7 thoughts on “The Widow

  1. Another very touching poem. I do have a young widow in my life. The picture is perfect with it.

    • My neighbor was younger than I am now when she lost her husband. Whenever she mentions his name, her voice has the sweetest tone. It’s obvious she cared for him deeply.

  2. Beautiful. It also applies to a woman whose husband is slowing leaving her because Alzheimer’s is stealing him away.

Comments are closed.