Poem in Your Pocket Day

April 26, 2012 is National Poem in your Pocket Day.

Here’s the poem in my pocket today. One I’d like to get to know better. In the process of sharing it I hope to commit it to memory.

*******

My Heart Leaps Up by William Wordsworth

My heart leaps up when I behold

A rainbow in the sky;

So was it when my life began;

So is it now I am a man;

So be it when I shall grow old;

Or let me die!

The Child is father of the Man;

And I could wish my days to be

Bound each to each by natural piety.

*******

Have you put a poem in your pocket? Please share it with all of us in the comments.

Thank you. Happy Poem in your Pocket Day!

Lori

7 thoughts on “Poem in Your Pocket Day

  1. Pingback: Poem in Your Pocket « Obscured Dreamer

  2. Pingback: PAD Day 26—Fur, Fowl and Animal Poems « Claudsy's Blog

  3. A great one.
    In winter I get up and night and dress by yellow candle light. In summer quite the other way…Robert Louis Stevenson.

  4. Thank you for sharing this link on my post. What a great sentiment in this poem you’ve chosen. As you know, I chose “maggie and milly and molly and may” by e.e. cummings. My children all shared the poem today too~I printed it on cards we could pass out. Poetry Month makes me happy.

  5. My poem goes back to Childcraft–I’m hiding, I’m hiding and no one knows where, all they can see are my toes and my hair…!

Comments are closed.