Van Gogh’s Blossoming Almond Branches

Blossoming Almond Branches by Lori Lipsky

On a field of blue sky
float almond branches
light as Van Gogh's heart
as he celebrates
the birth of his nephew

but the gifted artist
cannot cling
to happiness
and the branches
drift away

*******

Notes: Blossoming Almond Branches by Vincent Van Gogh is on display
 at the Van Gogh Museum in Amsterdam. 

You can view the museum's collection here.

“I want to touch people with my art. I want them to say he feels 
deeply, he feels tenderly.”  ~Vincent Van Gogh

9 thoughts on “Van Gogh’s Blossoming Almond Branches

  1. I enjoyed this very much. The words and the painting are beautiful together.

  2. Your words are beautiful, like the painting. Not only that, but the non-art-taught (like me) is painlessly, gently instructed just enjoying them!

  3. Love this poem and picture. such a neat way to give us insight into Van Gogh.

  4. The poem and the picture leave an ache. I so hope Vincent is rejoicing in heaven’s beauty!

Comments are closed.