A Goodbye

A Goodbye 

Squeezed behind the wheel
of his well-used compact
he backed out of the drive
of the only home
he'd ever known,
using side mirrors
because his belongings
piled in the backseat  
blocked the view.

As he put the car in drive
to pull away, he waved
to his newly-widowed mother
as she stood on the front step
with tears held back, hand waving,
mouth smiling against its will.

And off he drove 
to his first job,
and back she turned
to pat the dog's head
and begin her own adventure—
living alone for the first time
in her life.

**********
by Lori Lipsky

24 thoughts on “A Goodbye

    • Well, it’s not exactly autobiographical. I have girls and a husband, but our nest did empty this week, so there is the goodbye. Thank you for your kind words.

  1. You have such a beautiful way of describing this touching scene, Lori! Love this poem. I feel as though I am right there.

    • I’m on day eight or nine of the empty nest and keeping so busy I don’t have time to grieve. Thankfully I still have my husband in real life.

      The letting go of children usually happens in steps as their independence increases, so It’s not as painful as you might imagine when they are young, especially if you prepare your heart as they grow older. You’ll be so happy to see them having successes, finding their niche, finding that special someone, etc.

  2. So well done Lori – I just bid my oldest farewell as she moved to another state to begin her first post-college career – and new life… still adjusting 😦 ~ but thrilled for her just the same… where does the time go?! xo

    • Thank you, Robyn! Thankfully nowadays we have email, Skype, texting, airlines, etc. I hope you and your daughter will be able to keep the line of communication open…Time does fly too fast!

Comments are closed.