After Mother’s Day, Two Poems

iStock_000005690423XSmall

After Mother’s Day

robins will get their worm
flowers will have their turn
eternal winter will finish firm—
after Mother’s Day

No Doubt

Before the end of
Winter Eternal
the robins sang
a deceptive song

crocuses poked
up their greens
the Midwest smiled, then
more snow fell…and more

but Midwesterners know
without a doubt
eternity ends
without a doubt

and it’s safe to plant
without a doubt
since winter dies
until next year

without a doubt—
after Mother’s Day
*****

I was raised in southern Wisconsin, and I descend from a line of Iowan farmers. Growing up I learned that it’s never safe to plant until after Mother’s Day (and even then, you might be smart to wait a bit). These two poems are dedicated to my northern friends who’ve experienced snow this week. ~Lori

photo:Tobias Keckel/istockphoto

37 thoughts on “After Mother’s Day, Two Poems

    • I just went out and counted. Crocus #3 is blooming (something ate crocus #1) and I’m expecting three tulips. Not quite as exciting as you–expecting Grandchild #2, but my flowers do make me smile. 😀

  1. And when is the Mother’s day over there, USA and Canada?

    Here, both in France and Sweden, it’s the last sunday this month, often the same day as the birthday of my father… More than 2000 km between my parents and me… And yes, you use miles, but I don’t count 1632 meters 1,632 km = 1 mile(s)… But if I remember Canada use the metric system as we here in Europe…

    • I’m glad for this reminder that Mother’s Day is celebrated at different times around the world. Here in the USA it’s the second Sunday in May…so May 12th this year. I think it’s the same for Canada, Australia and New Zealand. 🙂

  2. Winter Eternal has returned today after eighty wonderful degrees only yesterday. You speak words of eternal truth, Lori! In a lovely way. It makes the cold SO much more bearable.

    • Thank you very much for your kind words. I was in California last summer and brought home some gorgeous photos of roses.
      Nearly evergreen…I can’t imagine what it must be like. 🙂

  3. What a great poem Lori. I love it. Beautifully written and expressed and … true! Hopefully spring is finally beginning to show up for everyone, everywhere! 🙂

  4. Lovely words, Lori, but living in northern California, I can’t relate to the snow! But, your photo is a wonderful complement to your writing! 🙂

    • I felt like moving to California during the long winter, but it’s gone now, and becoming only a fading memory. Thank you kindly, Lauren.

      • Well, in the northern part, the heat isn’t too bad, but when it does hit, that’s when I’m ready for winter! I guess we always want something else at some time! 🙂 Have a great day, Lori! xx

Comments are closed.