25 thoughts on “The Recitation

  1. Wow I really like the way you got across how the little girl was the audience and that she wasnt too keen at the start i think this give us a look into how maybe poetry is viewed these days , may I just ask what was your reason for writing it ? Its brilliant but I like to get a feel for what inspires my fellow writers , please check out my latest blog post/poem. Cheers steven

    http://sfoxwriting.wordpress.com/2013/07/09/if-you-stop-for-a-minute/

    • Thanks for your note, Steven! This poem began with the photo. It’s been sitting on my desktop, staring at me for months. The photo spoke to me…just took a while to get that first line. Once I had the first line and the idea, the rest was a pleasure. Thanks for stopping by the patio! -Lori

  2. So glad you don’t make us choose favorite poems. But if you did this one would have to be in my top 50 :0

  3. I agree–one of my favorites, too. I love it. Thanks for causing another smile to crack.

  4. too danged cute!! I love your poems, Lori and so sorry I’ve been away. My internet at home is wonky (working up upgrading) and been writing up a storm on my ya novel.
    I miss you though and read your posts via smart phone.
    Hope you are well and having a lovely summer!
    hugs –
    LN

    • There you are, LN. I’m so happy to hear from you. Writing up a storm is a good thing! Sorry your internet has been causing you grief. Maybe wonky internet is helping you get those word counts up, though. πŸ™‚

      Doing fine here. I’ve a new job teaching voice and piano in a music school near my home. It’s part-time, but taking attention away from writing just a bit. Once I adjust things should be fine. Always good to hear from you…you brighten my days when you visit. -Lori

  5. Lori, I absolutely love this one! It’s perfect for that cutie. πŸ™‚ Well done!

Comments are closed.