Errand Day

Shoe Shoppe

Errand Day
 

Five clerks served up
my daily portion of human
contact

One had a cold—I pitied him
then disinfected
my hands

Two expressed only unhappiness
eager for her shift
to end

Three talked all the while to her co-worker
seeing right
through me

Four never thought to make eye contact
or smile

Five brought kindness back to my world
infusing my evening with pleasant
feelings

***
by Lori Lipsky
photo credit: istockphoto/photoeuphoria

Also showing today: Through the North Window
at The Barn Door

17 thoughts on “Errand Day

    • Thanks, Robin. I’ve been there and remember how tough it can be to be friendly when a mean customer has just come through and hurt my feelings.

    • So happy to hear from you, Eunice. Clerks could learn a thing or two from you…wherever I look, you’re spreading kindness all around WP.

      • 🙂 Naw just trying to share my world I was raised to behave though a few times I am sure that envelope was PUSHED lol I can not reply on the other spot you post too 😦 Nice to see you as well!

  1. Shopping for clothes, fabrics and accessories is a huge part of my job. I commiserate completely!

    There seems to be something going odd w/ the “likes” and “comments”. I went to your previous post to check a comment you made to me… but I cannot find any likes or comments.
    I’m going to use another browser and see what happens.

  2. This is a grand way of saying there are only a few folks out there who “connect” and care. Beautifully written, beautifully said. 🙂

Comments are closed.